Centro Histórico de Garachico
Garachico is a picturesque little town that many consider to be one of the most beautiful on the island. It was founded in 1496 by Cristóbal de Ponte, a Genoese merchant, and since then it has flourished with churches and dazzling palaces that are still preserved as they were in the past. The hermitage of San Roque, the former convent of Santo Domingo de Guzmán, the former convent of San Francisco or the Hacienda de El Lamero: these are some of the places that are a must to visit. The charm of this town is also thanks to its relaxed atmosphere, which invites you to sit in its squares, such as that of La Libertad, La de Abajo and Las Lonjas.
After the break, the route we suggest includes the Casa del Marqués de la Quinta Roja, the Casa de Piedra or Casa de los Condes de La Gomera and the Parque de la Antigua Puerta de Tierra. The Matriz de Santa Ana church and the Castle-Fortress of San Miguel are also well worth visiting.
As a result of the volcanic eruption of 1706, whose lava buried the old port forever, the arm of the sea known as El Caletón was capriciously formed, with its different “pools” (Las Viejas, Los Niños, Los Chorros,…) which constitute a set of natural pools, with acceptable conditions for bathing and an excellent promenade.